Chapter XXXIII – COUNTING BIRTHDAYS

I recall a recent conversation that my husband had with our youngest granddaughter.

Pappy was talking to our 3-year-old granddaughter and trying to get more than one word answers out of her.

Pappy:  “Aren’t you having a birthday coming up?”

Our Precious girl:  “Yes, I am!”

Pappy:  “How old are you now?”

Our Precious girl: “I’m three.”

Pappy:  “How old will you be after your birthday?”

Our Precious girl furrowed her eyebrows with a deep look of concern: “Pappy, don’t you know how to count yet?”

The retired Marine Colonel and former U.S. Naval Academy teacher looked abashed.

I rolled on the floor laughing.

Copyright © 2012, Maura White. All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Chapter XXXIII – COUNTING BIRTHDAYS

Leave a comment